Redeem and Revise Broken Promises – Social Media “Get it Right”

So I haven’t blogged in quite a while and for that, my colleagues would be very disappointed. I don’t know if you have heard but there seems to be a trend happening where blogging is going back to the professional bloggers. So in order to be a ‘professional blogger’ you need to blog on a regular basis. Not sure if I buy this trend or not because I have several clients who are currently blogging on a regular basis who would be considered amateur but we are working on that.

Life get’s in the way and believe me I understand this more than most. So what next? Well the first thing I am going to do is make good on a few subjects that I had mentioned I would blog about and haven’t yet. Those are:

  • Social Media Bubble: Fact or Fiction
  • Steps to build a Social Media Strategy
  • Why is Social Media different from Marketing?
  • Why your PR and Marketing Message won’t work as a Social Media Post, Well not at first.

So tomorrow my Blog will be about “Social Media Bubble: Fact or Fiction”

Since I promised those that follow me and belong to my Business page on FB that I would redeem myself from the takeover of Marketers on my page trying to sell them a product while I was absent below is step 1 for anyone starting a Social Media Strategy.

Develop a Listening Station For FREE:

Listening Station:

Set up a Gmail account if you don’t already have one

Go to www.google.com/reader. This will become your listening station

Go to www.technorati.com Type your name in quotes into the search bar.

When the results page comes up, right-click on the little orange RSS button

Go back to Google Reader, click the blue plus button (+) and paste or use CTRL V for Windows, CMD V for MAC.

Repeat these steps for as many different terms as you might want to search for (your company, keywords, and competitors)

Go to http://blogsearch.google.com and do the same searches.

Go to http://search.twitter.com and do the same searches.

Go to http://youtube.com and do the same searches

Google Reader allows you to build folders. (resource from Trust Agent by Chris Brogan)

I am back and boy am I…. well you know. It amazes me what is getting out there about social media marketing. And the nerve of marketers to sell unwanted product on another companies FB page. You gotta love the fact that online, people can still act like the wild, wild west.

Well this blogger is back and on a mission. Talk to you soon!

“In a time of universal deceit – telling the truth is a revolutionary act” – George Orwell

Les Adkins, CEO Orange SMS

Stay Tuned for MySylbert Community Coming Soon!

One thought on “Redeem and Revise Broken Promises – Social Media “Get it Right”

Leave a Reply

