Social Media Gurus Really Do Exist.

Continuing on with our “5 Lies of Social Media Marketing” from “The Daily Dose” by Mikal E. Belicove.

Number 3: I love this one by the way and all my colleagues and I discuss this quite often.

The answer to the question, Do Social Media Gurus Really Exist is “NO ,they don’t. Here’s my advice when you run across someone positioning himself or herself as a ‘social media guru’ or expert” (Remember an expert is a drip under pressure) “Run for the exit. Everybody working in this field is practicing on the job training. Just because they’ve written a book like I have or spoken in public about the do’s and don’ts of social media, doesn’t mean they know your business and how to conceptualize and manage campaigns that hit upon your business related goals.” Belicove

I love this, absolutely love this. I tell this to people all the time. I personally have been introduced as a social media “guru” and “expert” and I always begin by stating that there is no such thing. This new way to communicate is changing so rapidly that no one can know everything about social media even those of us in the industry. So I agree if someone claims to be an expert run, don’t walk, in the opposite direction.

Today I was at an appointment and we were discussing this topic and although I have said it in the past I need to repeat it here. If a company that has a platform is touting that they know social media (and they may do a great job) at the end of the day they are trying to sell you their platform. There now, I’ve made every technology company who is selling a social media platform mad at me. Happy? The things I do for you!

I totally agree that the company, or so-called guru, does not know your business and social media has to come from within. When I speak to, or work with, companies the goal is to develop an internal team that learns to use social media in a strategic way for the organization. I or one of my consultants acts as a catalyst to build that team around until they can strategically do the process themselves.

There is a methodology we use called POST

P eople

O bjective

S trategy

T echnology

This methodology was created by Forrester Research and can be found in the book “Groundswell” by Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff

You’ll notice that Technology is last and People are first. Only you can decide who your people and objectives organizationally are. We can help you with creating a strategy but you need to implement that strategy consistently from within.

So remember you can’t throw a rock without hitting someone who claims to “do social media”, (wasn’t that way when I first started) but if they claim to be an expert RUN…….Les Adkins – CEO Orange SMS

One thought on “Social Media Gurus Really Do Exist.

Leave a Reply

