Failure and why that isn’t so bad

So I’m taking a break from “25 signs you’ve got a strong SM Consultant or Agency” I promise that I will be back on track tomorrow.

But I came across a posting that made me stop and think. I know several of my friends and colleagues have given up on the dream of having their own business and gone back to the world of corporate America for less pay and longer hours. They’ve done it for security. So why do I keep on going with my business? There are some days I feel great and some days I feel like a failure. I discovered a blog today that brightened my spirit and my day.

Illustration: Oscar Ramos Orozco

Please check out the original posting “9 Reasons Why Failure is not Fatal” Several additional videos and Ted Talks.

Life happens and in my case it was the loss of my father-in-law and the blessing of my wife being able to spend time with him the last 5 months of his life.  But that did put us behind when it comes to finances. So all the growth my business accomplished in the last year, it now sometimes feels as if I’m starting over.

I came across this quote today and this video and it made me feel like sharing it with you.

Failure. Fear of it is universal, experiencing it is inevitable, and running from it is dependably routine. As a culture we can’t seem to shake the negativity of the term – even though most success stories have a shared foundation in some kind of accidental realization, wrong-footed first attempt, or outright error…that our only real failure is to live life without it.

J.K. Rowling: The Fringe Benefits of Failure

“What we achieve inwardly will change outer reality”

Some business people will say that I’m sharing too much but I believe that the new world of business requires more honesty and transparency and yes even just sharing your thoughts to those who read your blog. How can you trust someone if you never see that they are human.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you are feeling like a failure hopefully this added a little bit of hope to your day! I know it did to mine.

Les Adkins – Social Media Strategist, speaker, consultant, author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work. Please follow @mysylbert

Leave a Reply

