Day 2: Goals

So to keep you in the loop I am continuing my 30 day journey to continue living outside the “Comfort Zone”.  A gentleman named Nate Webster has joined the journey with me and hope to have more people join us as we go through this 30 day journey.

Here is the pic that prompted this 30 day journey:

So I am actually on day 4 of the journey but I am only blogging Monday through Friday so you are getting to see my work after the fact. I hope this helps some of you achieve this ultimate goal.

So I had a birthday not too long ago and I promised several followers and friends that I would be posting my Goals for all to see. I also have asked those followers and friends to hold me accountable for these goals. If you are willing to stay in touch you too can hold me accountable and make sure that the goals I’ve printed below are happening.

First a little about Goals. There has been so much written on this subject that if you google Goals you get over 456,000,000 results. The actual definition of Goal from dictionary.com is: “the result or achievement toward which effort is directed;aim; end.”

I worked for someone one time who really believed in S.M.A.R.T Goals.

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Realistic

Timely

But I also remember what Les Brown said at an event . When deciding financial goals do the following. Go on do it with me now.

“Write down how much money you would like to make in the coming year” (got the answer?)

“Now multiply that by 100 and don’t worry about it being a large figure”

The point is that if you ended up with say $1,000,000 and you only reach 10% of that goal you earned $100,000. Chances are if you reach for a million you will end up with closer to a million than one hundred thousand.  So is that “Realistic” in a SMART Goal scenario? Depends on if you are living inside the circle or outside of the circle.

Four main things to remember when writing goals:

 1. Write Them Down. They are too easy to forget if you don’t and by writing them down you form a link in your brain that will help you achieve them. (There is a science there, but I won’t bore you with the details.)

2. Put a Timeline on Them. That can be 3 months, 6 months, 12 months or 5 years. If you don’t put a timeline on them you can never evaluate where you are with reaching them.

3. Make Short Term and Long Term Goals. By separating them into short-term and long-term goals you allow yourself the energy to spread them out and yes (although I’m against making them too easy) realistic.

4. Post in a prominent place where you see them every day. This is important to make sure that your sub conscience helps you reach your goals.

If you miss a timeline or even an actual Goal. Don’t give up just move it back. The more brain time you spend on looking at your goals the more likely you are to reach them. This is because your brain, your sub conscience wants to make them real for you. (That could be another entire article.) So good journey and good luck. Here are my goals below:

Les Adkins Goals for 2011 – 2012

Les Adkins is the CEO of  Orange SMS Consulting and an International Social Media Strategist, speaker, consultant and author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work. Please follow @mysylbert and connect on LinkedIn

 

Join us on FB as well

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 2: Goals

Leave a Reply

