Day 27: Getting Back To My Roots – Digital Presence

So I  train others on how to create an online presence. So why do I only have 237 likes on FB, 329 followers on Twitter and  468 Connections on LinkedIn. Well there are several excuses I could give. The best one is; that I believe in engaging your audience and yes, I truly believe that Size Does Not Matter.

But building an online presence takes work and time. So I am not a big fan of excuses so I’ll just admit that I have not put the time and work into building my online presence.

So part of this 30 day journey is realizing where you need work and what you need to work on. So here are 9 quick tips for Branding yourself or company online fromBob Baker.

  1. Define your brand up front.
  2. Lead with what you do, not who you are.
  3. Use a real person as a figure-head.
  4. Develop a fan-club mentality.
  5. Make good use of words.
  6. Make sure visual elements reinforce your identity.
  7. Become a one-stop destination.
  8. Publish an e-mail newsletter.
  9. Be visible through online forums.
Go to 9 Ways to Create a Rock-Solid Brand Identity Online to go into more detail regarding the above tips.
I still believe that engaging your followers or connections is far more important than having a large following. But there is a lot of noise out there claiming that a “Social Media Consultant” should have a large following. Although I completely disagree with this philosophy and believe engagement and strategy out weigh the size of your following I need to be able to silence the voices from a position of strength.
So if you can help me out by doing one of four things:
  1. Like my FB page
  2. Follow me on twitter @mysylbert
  3. Connect with me on LinkedIn
  4. And if you are on Google + add me to your circles.
If you could help me out I would really appreciate it. After my 30 day journey I will be spending more time on building my own online presence.
So whatever industry or field you are in, go back to your roots and see what you need to work on.
Les Adkins is the CEO of  Orange SMS Consulting and an International Social Media Strategist, speaker, consultant and author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work.
Watch my website grow and get better as I work  on my digital presence.
One thought on “Day 27: Getting Back To My Roots – Digital Presence

Leave a Reply

