Are You Too Busy To Blog?

Are you familiar with the story of the children whose father was a Cobbler and they went without shoes? Well there are several people who own or run businesses that use this story. It’s a great story but at the end of the day it’s just an excuse. I can say this, because I have been using this story myself and realized that it was a Gigantic excuse.

There is some truth in this because business owners are busy and they sometimes neglect their own business working with customers/clients. But it is still an excuse. Doug Grady writes in his book “The Ripple Effect” that one of his statements his dad taught him was “Do It Anyway” even if you don’t think you can or if you don’t have the time.

I realized recently that the last Blog I wrote was on June 20th. For you mathematically challenged that was a little over 2 months ago. This week I was facilitating one of the training’s I do for NetApp in Brazil and a few of them said that the information they were getting may not be relevant for their country. I went into explaining why this is an excuse to do something outside their comfort zone. The course helps technical people move from the technology conversation to the business conversation. Moving from speaking technonese to speaking business strategy. They were trying to use “it may be different in my company” as an excuse as to not use the information they were learning. (It worked itself out when I said just use the information but in your style). But I digress…

I use the example above as a case to show that all of us find reasons and excuses for not doing something new or not doing the things we know to do that will make us successful. My company helps organizations grow their business by providing guidance using social media and how to create a “Social Business Strategy” customized to their organization.

The point or the “So What” for this Blog is simple. I am no longer going to allow myself or anyone in my business to use the story of the Cobbler as a reason for not doing what we need to do, to allow our business to grow. In other words:

So the next time someone tells you the story of the Cobbler and his children with no shoes because he was busy making shoes for other children. Just smile and remember that from this day forth. You and I are living by the motto “No More Excuses”.

Important Note: No one is saying this will not be hard, anything worth doing is.

Be on the look out for more blogs from me on a more consistent basis.

Greetings from Sao Paulo Brazil:

Les Adkins is the CEO of  Orange SMS Consulting and an International Social Business Strategist, speaker, consultant and author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work. Please follow @mysylbert and connect on LinkedIn Join us on FB and Google+ as well.

One thought on “Are You Too Busy To Blog?

Leave a Reply

