Day 5 Motivation – 2013 Revisited

Motivation is a driving force for any success. But in life, Motivation sometimes wanes and we need a good stiff kick in the pants to get us going again. Or at least some of us do. I don’t know about you but I try to stay motivated continuously but that may be unrealistic. There are times that you need downtime, but the motivation to succeed must never be too far away or you may see your dreams drift off into the clouds and find someone else who moved forward with your idea…Don’t let that happen. It has been over a year and a half since I wrote the blog below but I think everyone should listen to the Steve Jobs video if not daily at least once a month. If that doesn’t motivate you well, then you probably can’t be motivated.

I hope you are enjoying this journey with me and I hope you are taking the time to make these daily suggestions a part of your every day lives. I know I am, again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALes Adkins is the CEO of Orange SMS Consulting and an International Social Business Strategist, speaker, consultant and author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work. Please follow @mysylbert and connect on LinkedIn Join us on FB and Google+ as well.

(Original Post – October 7,2011)

So Day 5 in the 30 day journey to “Live Outside the Comfort Zone” is MOTIVATION. You need to find what motivates you personally. It is different for everyone.  For some it is Money, others Success, others Fame and for some just to be able to Provide for their Family. Find out what motivates you and then find books, videos and other things that motivate you every day.

A friend of mine Jennifer Dunphy, VP of Sales and Marketing at Vayu Media once told me she makes sure she has meetings scheduled in the morning so she get’s up and starts moving. Like most people, including me, if you don’t have something scheduled you might end up sleeping in or turning on the TV. You need to have what works for you to motivate you to get out of bed in the morning.

Steve Jobs gave a great commencement speech with many motivational statements:

If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right. It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?  And whenever the answer has been No for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something….

Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose…. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” – Steve Jobs

Another great motivational tool is visualization. That is where you truly sit down and close your eyes and visualize what you want to achieve or the person you want to become. The mind is a powerful thing and if you visualize your perfect dream your subconscious will work very hard to not make a liar out of you and help you achieve this dream.

Find what works for you. But find something that Motivates you and gets you out of bed in the morning, every morning!

Who We Are

One thought on “Day 5 Motivation – 2013 Revisited

Leave a Reply

