Day 29 Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes (revisited 2013)

So lately I have been hearing phrases such as “Life Changing” and “Once in a life time opportunity”. No these are not sales people trying to sell me something, but the people around me that are noticing the extra ordinary things that are happening with my life and business. This is one of the reasons that I have been absent and a little behind when it comes to posting Day 29 and 30.

Tomorrow is the 4th of July. A time to take stock of how and why we are able to enjoy the freedom’s we have in this country. My life in the last 2 months has shown me that there is still incredible opportunity in this country and this world if you just stay persistent and continue doing something that you believe in. So Happy 4th of July and I will wait to post Day 30 this coming Friday. Life is about changes that take place throughout your existence some small and some big but always they change the way you look at life sometimes in a bad way but hopefully in an amazing good way.

Les Adkins is the CEO of Orange SMS Consulting and an International Social Business 20110327-125416.jpgStrategist, speaker, consultant and author. Bringing strategy and whole brain thinking to creative campaigns and social media through his work. Also two-time Tough Mudder finisher. Please follow @mysylbert and connect on LinkedIn Join us on FB and Google+ as well.

(Original Post Posted on November 11, 2011)

So on Day 29 I went up to my parents house to help them with some basic technical issues. I always tell them I am not tech support, but for them I make an exception. It was doing things like downloading pictures from a camera to a computer, posting a few pics on FB and figuring out how to make one of those electronic picture frames work.

CheeseOn the drive up I started thinking about the 30 day journey that I was on and what had initiated the journey and where I was at this point. The word that kept coming up was “Change”. If you have not read the book “Who Moved My Cheese” I highly recommend it. Without going into too much detail there are 4 characters, two mice Sniff and Scurry and two little people Hem and Haw.

“Cheese” is a metaphor for what you want to have in life…And the “Maze” is where you look for what you want…In the story the characters are faced with unexpected change. Eventually one of them deals with it successfully, and writes what he has learned from his experience on the maze walls. When you come to see ‘The Hand-writing on the Wall,’ you can discover for yourself how to deal with change… Spencer Johnson, M.D.

That should give you a good idea of the book. I highly recommend the read whether you are on this journey or if you feel you need to begin a journey of your own.

On the way home from my parents this song came on the

Still don’t know what I was waiting for

Time was running wild

A million dead-end streets

Every time I thought I’d got it made

It seemed the taste was not so sweet

So I turned myself to face me

But I never caught a glimpse

Of how the others must see the faker

I’m much to fast to take that test

Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes

(Turn and face the strain)

Ch-ch Changes

Don’t want to have to  be a richer man

Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes

(Turn and face the strain)

Ch-ch Changes

I just wanted to be a better man

Time may change me

But I can’t trace time…David Bowie -Ziggy Stardust

So as we come to the next to last day of the 30 day journey remember that time is moving on whether you change or not. Change is difficult and sometimes a struggle but in the end it is worth it to “Live Outside the Comfort Zone”

Who We Are

Leave a Reply

